Get Latest Sports News & Updates

Ranji Trophy – History, Teams, Records, Best Players

5 min read
Ranji Trophy – History

Ranji Trophy – History

Ranji Trophy is the chief first-class competition in Quite a while and has been in presence since 1943. Named after previous England cricketer Ranjitsinhji, an Indian who spoke to England even before India played their first Test coordinate, Ranji Trophy has been filling in as the ideal stage for youthful players to exhibit their abilities. 

Ranji Trophy

The Ranji Trophy was propelled following a gathering of the Indian board in July 1934, and the challenge started the accompanying season with the champs accepting a trophy given by the Maharajah of Patiala. It was named after KS Ranjitsinhji, the Indian sovereign and fine batsman who played 15 Tests for England somewhere in the range of 1896 and 1902 and acquainted new strokes with the game, including the late cut and the leg look. 

Till date, Mumbai has been the most noticeable group in the title with 40 successes. Their sheer predominance can be comprehended from the way that they won 15 straight occasions between the 1958-59 and 1972-73 season. To begin with state groups, clubs and cricket affiliations that had top-notch status were permitted to partake in the competition. For instance, the Cricket Association of Bengal and the Delhi District Cricket Association are territorial groups while Services and Railways are on the whole Indian elements that were given the authorization to participate. Throughout the years the members of this pined for trophy have changed. Following are a few groups that used to take an interest in past:

Also Check: Top 10 Bowlers with Fastest 50 Wickets in ODI

  1. Army 
  2. Northern Punjab 
  3. Central India 
  4. North Western Frontier Province 
  5. East Punjab 
  6. Sind 
  7. Holkar 
  8. Southern Punjab 
  9. Northern India 

While groups, for example, Army, Holkar, Central India, Northern India, East Punjab and Northern Punjab were at last given up, groups like the North Western Frontier Province, Southern Punjab and Sind were not viewed as qualified any longer after the parcel and ensuing autonomy of India. 

Till the 2001-02 season, the groups were separated on a geographic premise into 4 or 5 zones, for example, North, East, South, West. The Central Zone was included during the 1952-53 season. The matches were played in a thump out configuration till the 1956-57 season and after that, the competition changed to a group for deciding the champ. After that, the champs in various zones partook in a knockout organization for winning the trophy.

During the 1970-71 season, the thump out stage began to highlight the best two groups from each zone and from the 1992-93 season the number went up to 3. From 1996-97 to 1999-2000 the 15 groups participated in a subsequent level gathering stage where there were 3 gatherings of 5 groups. The best 2 from every one of these gatherings at that point proceeded to include in the thump out stage. The present configuration for the Ranji Trophy was received in the 2002-03 season. 

Mumbai has won the Ranji Trophy a record multiple times. They have created probably the best Indian batsman ever – Vijay Merchant, Polly Umrigar, Sunil Gavaskar, Dilip Vengsarkar and Sachin Tendulkar to give some examples. A large portion of them went to skipper the national Test side. 

Bombay had a shocking dash of 15 Ranji titles from 1958-59 to 1972-73. They won 20 out of the 22 releases between 1955-56 and 1976-77. 

Records of Ranji Trophy

Records of Ranji Trophy

#Most Titles

Mumbai (otherwise called Bombay) have won the competition multiple times, the most by any group. 

#Most Finals

 With 41 titles in their kitty, Mumbai has lost the last on five events of their 46 appearances in the summit conflict, the most by any group.

#Most Matches by a Player

Ever since making his introduction in the 1995/96 season, Madhya Pradesh chief Devendra Bundela has played 137 matches in Ranji Trophy, the most by any player. 

#Most elevated group Complete:

Hyderabad enlisted the most noteworthy aggregate in the historical backdrop of Ranji Trophy when they scored 966 keeps running for the loss of six wickets against their neighbourhood rivals Andhra at Secunderabad in 1994. MV Sridhar scored 366 while Noel David and Vivek Jaisimha scored twofold hundreds of years to push their group to a huge aggregate. Tragically, the match neglected to deliver an outcome as Andhra oversaw 180 for the loss of seven wickets when the match finished. 

Also Check: Top 5 Fastest Bowlers to reach 100 ODI Wickets

Not just the most elevated, even the least all out ever in Ranji Trophy has a place with Hyderabad as they were packaged out for only 21 against Rajasthan in 2010, because of debutant Deepak Chahar’s heroics that saw him take eight wickets in the primary innings. Hyderabad figured out how to score 126 in the subsequent innings yet that couldn’t keep them from losing by an innings and 256 runs. 

#Most Runs

Out-of-support Indian opener Wasim Jaffer is seemingly the best batsman to have played Ranji Trophy as he has scored the most keeps running by any batsman in the competition. Since making his presentation for Mumbai in 1996, Jaffer scored 10143 keeps running in his vocation that is set to enter its 21st year. 

After playing for Mumbai for about two decades, Jaffer moved to neighbourhood rivals Vidarbha two or three seasons back and still keeps on collecting runs. By chance, he is the main batsman to have scored 10000 keeps running throughout the entire existence of the competition. 

#Most elevated Individual scores

Maharashtra’s Bhausaheb Nimbalkar’s 443* against Kathiawar (presently Saurashtra) in 1948 is as yet the most noteworthy individual score by a batsman in the historical backdrop of Ranji Trophy. His unbeaten 443 took 494 balls and included 49 fours and a solitary six. Likewise, he is the main batsman to have scored a 400 in the competition. 

Most elevated normal (Minimum 3500 runs): Bombay’s Vijay Merchant arrived at the midpoint of 98.75 in the competition as he amassed 3639 keeps running in 47 innings for them. 

Most hundreds of years: once more, Wasim Jaffer tops a batting outline, this time, for the most number of hundreds of years scored in the competition with 35. 

#Most Fifties

once more, Jaffer drives the graphs with 76 fifties in the historical backdrop of Ranji Trophy. 

#Most Twofold Hundreds of Years

Himachal Pradesh’s Paras Dogra and Ajay Sharma (both Delhi and HP) share this record as both these batsmen have scored seven twofold hundreds of years in their Ranji Trophy profession. 

#Most Triple Hundreds of Years

With three triple hundreds of years, Saurashtra’s Ravindra Jadeja holds the record for most triple a very long time in Ranji Trophy. 

#Most Fourfold Hundreds of Years

Maharashtra’s Bhausaheb Nimbalkar is the main batsman to score a 400 in Ranji Trophy.

Also Check: Top 10 Players to Reach Fastest 9000 Runs In ODI Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *